whisky, instant noodle and photography

WPG’s Photo Quest #102 – Show us what you like or dislike about Fall/Spring

An athletic festival of an elementary school where my son goes to was held today.  It was fine weather today though weather news told tomorrow will be rainy.  I enjoyed my son’s running and dancing very much.  The athletic festival seemed a photography event because many parents took photos with their CANON, NIKON, OLYMPUS and SONY and/or recorded with video cameras.  I was the only one who took photos with PENTAX (;^_^).  Anyway, my photos are so-so fall photos because athletic festival in Japan is usually held in fall.

After the athletic festival, I went to a mountain side with my partner and son to look for more fall like objects.  And found these ones :D

Flying & dancing pink cosmos:  PENTAX K-x + TAMRON A16 (Manual mode, f/4.0, 1/250, ISO200)


Terraced rice fields in fall:  PENTAX K-x + TAMRON A16 (Manual mode, f/4.5, 1/200, ISO200)


Red spider lily:  PENTAX K-x + TAMRON A16 (Manual mode, f/2.8, 1/500, ISO200)

All three images were taken without tripod and were edited with iPhoto ’09.

I wanted to introduce Japanese fall to you so I selected typical flowers and view which were seen in fall here.
Red spider lily is one of my favorite flowers so I liked to choose the 2nd and the 3rd ones :)

11 responses

  1. Pingback: Photo Quest #102 fall!!! « WPG's Photo Quest

  2. Linda Bange

    All are very nice. I’m not sure which to pick, but I really like the flowers with the open sky in the background. The only flowers still blooming here are mums. I did see some rice fields that had just been cut on Thursday. Yes, they do grow rice in southern Missouri. It really looks out of place. But instead of terraces, they grow it in big open fields with a ridge around them so they can flood them.

    October 3, 2010 at 00:50

    • Thanks Linda Bange!
      I know California is one of the production areas for rice. It’s very first time for me to hear there is rice field in southern Missouri. How often and how do you eat rice?

      October 6, 2010 at 20:29

  3. They are all so pretty, but I favor the terraced field, so lovely.

    October 5, 2010 at 06:43

    • Thanks Kira!
      I was lucky as I was able to capture rice fields waiting for harvest, red spider lilies and sun-drying rice in the 2nd photo.

      October 6, 2010 at 20:37

  4. Hellow!

    I love your site ,It is a pleasure to visit.

    I have added your site to my site.

    Please link site to your site.

    Thank you!

    October 6, 2010 at 23:00

    • Thank you Kaede Makabe for your comment and making the link in your site!

      October 9, 2010 at 10:56

  5. 御無沙汰しています。
    今年は彼岸花も咲く時期が遅れたような気がします。
    今まで駅前の住宅の間に花壇があり 彼岸花を見ながら
    駅に行っていたのですが、この春に全て移動され、
    今は取り壊しの最中(ThT)
    あまり見ることができませんでした。

    コスモスもきれいですね。最近黄色のコスモスも
    あるみたいですね。
    写真で目の保養をさせて頂きました。
    ありがとうございます。

    October 8, 2010 at 18:08

    • chika8315さん、ありがとうございます〜。
      駅前の花壇、残念ですね。球根性植物なので毎年同じ場所で咲きますので、是非良い場所を見つけて下さい。
      万博公園でコスモスフェスタも始まりましたねー今日はけっこうな雨ですけど。

      October 9, 2010 at 11:04

  6. うわ~~~!

    どのフォトにも溢れんばかりの日本の秋が凝縮されていますね。バナーも美しい!!

    東北で稲藁が綺麗に並んでいるのに見とれてしまいましたが、さすが南の地方、まだ乾燥の段階ですね。今年は収穫時期もずれ込んでいるとか・・・

    October 9, 2010 at 09:47

    • magnifikaさん、ありがとうございます〜。
      東北の方は早く植えて早く刈り込みますよね。山形ではゴールデンウィークの頃には田植えは終わってたような。ここいらとは田植えも稲刈もひと月程差がありそうです。

      October 9, 2010 at 11:11

Leave a Reply

