whisky, instant noodle and photography

A swallowtail butterfly

I visited my parents with my family last weekend.  I’m looking forward to seeing my mom’s flowers whenever I go there.  Unfortunately there was no good object to shoot in her garden this time so I made up my mind to go out with my camera.

I met a beautiful swallowtail butterfly very soon.  The butterfly kept on eating.  It must be so hungry :D

Rice field in Nara prefecture, Japan.  Harvest season will come soon.

I met a praying mantis in the rice field.  The praying mantis must say “WHAT?”  haha

I finally found a red spider lily.  It was the first one I saw this year.  It seems blooming season of red spider lily is two weeks behind compared with last year.

12 responses

  1. Wonderful photo…the butterfuly is so detailed and colorful…I’ve never seen rice up close…very nice photo.

    September 24, 2010 at 00:12

    • Thanks Maureen!
      Rice field is one of typical Japanese images. I usually enjoy your beautiful cactus photos. How different :D

      September 28, 2010 at 20:25

  2. Freedom Smith

    The butterfly is beautiful! I love the purple of the flower in that picture as well.

    The praying mantis is looking right at your camera! I think you are right about what he is saying :D

    Wonderful photographs as always!

    September 24, 2010 at 04:29

    • Thanks Freedom!
      These images are ordinary ones that we can see in Japanese country side in autumn. I hope my kids can still enjoy these ones when they become parents.

      September 28, 2010 at 20:32

  3. Love the butterfly! We didn’t see very many this year.

    September 24, 2010 at 09:37

    • Thanks CountryByDesign!
      Neither did I. Many insects especially honey bee decrease their population. I should pay more attention to nature to keep it.

      September 28, 2010 at 20:37

  4. The butterfly is by far the most lovely of these — what a great capture!

    September 26, 2010 at 10:25

    • Thanks archiegrrl!
      I was lucky at that time because the butterfly didn’t want to fly away. So I was able to take ten more photos of the butterfly :)

      September 28, 2010 at 20:43

  5. Hope you’ll have a better harvest than we have here in Germany. I love your photos of the insects and the red spider lily is amazing…
    Thanks for sharing these beautiful images my friend.

    September 27, 2010 at 17:06

    • Is there something trouble in harvest in Germany? I hope there is no problem.
      I found blooming season of spider lily had come. I’ll take some photos of that in this weekend. Please wait :)

      September 28, 2010 at 20:47

  6. Long time no write!
    I was busy to prepare the small show of my handmade goods. (If you like, please look my blog. I interlocked your site with my site.(=rink))

    My mother also loves flowers and trees and she rears many flowers.
    I also like to see her flowers.

    Anyway, I have just known that ‘Ageha-cho’ is ‘swallowtail butterfly’ and that ‘Kama-kiri’ is ‘praying mantis’ now. Thank you!

    September 27, 2010 at 23:07

    • Thanks Laija!
      They’re typical Japanese autumn images, aren’t they?
      I hope you enjoy great time at the exhibition and sale.

      September 28, 2010 at 20:50

Leave a Reply

